skip to main content

Scholar-Athletes Lauded

Shoreham-Wading River Logo thumbnail188014
The Shoreham-Wading River School District congratulates the spring 2021 varsity athletic teams who were recognized by New York State as Scholar-Athlete teams, an honor they earned by more than 75 percent of the roster maintaining an average GPA of 90 percent or above during the season. The students were lauded for their exceptional work on the field and in the classroom.

Among all the teams, an impressive number of students racked up numerous All League, All Conference, All County, All Academic, sportsmanship and MVP awards.

Boys Track

* All League: Blake Wehr, Alex Barrett, Tyler Hawks, Tyler Friedlander, Paul Loscalzo, Tailer Peperno
* All County: Blake Wehr, Alex Barrett
* All Academic: Paul Loscalzo, Tailer Peperno
* County High Jump Champion: Blake Wehr
* SWR Most Improved: Davin Casey
* SWR Co-MVPs: Blake Wehr, Alex Barrett

Girls Track

* All League: Torre Parrinello, Kelly Logan, Madison Zelin, Megan Klotz, Emma Granshaw, Anna Minetti, Sophia Lavey, Emma Longboat, Maya Beyersdorfer, Kayla Bodenburg, Colleen Ohrtman
* All Division: Torre Parrinello, Sydney Albert, Sophia Lavey, Emma Longboat
* All County Academic: Torre Parrinello

Girls Golf

* All-League: Abigail Sisler
* All-County: Melanie Hagen
* SWR MVP: Melanie Hagen
* SWR Most Improved: Regan Peperno
* Melanie Hagen placed 7th in the county and would have qualified for the state tournament if held this year.


* All County: Erin Cahill
* All League: Lindsay Cahill
* All Division: Lauren Halloran, Elizabeth Sabino


* All League: Joey Dwyer, Billy Steele, Jake Halloran, Jacob Bacenet, Christian Niski, Liam Bowes
* All County: Joey Dwyer, Billy Steele, Jake Halloran
* All Academic: Dan Kockenmeister

Girls Lacrosse

* All Conference: Carlie Cutinella
* All Division: Abigail Beran
* All County: Catherine Erb
* All County Honorable Mention: Alexa Constant, Grace Ann Leonard
* Unsung Hero: Brooke Meltcher
* Rookie of the Year: Reese Marcario
* SWR Most Improved: Jillian Hobbes

Boys Lacrosse

* All Division: Jake Wilson, Johnny Schwarz, Jeff Lachenmeyer, Alec Gregorek, Francisco Cortes, Liam Kershis, Chris Visintin
* All County: Jake Wilson, Johnny Schwarz, Jeff Lachenmeyer, Alec Gregorek, Francisco Cortes, Liam Kershis (Honorable Mention)
* All American: Jake Wilson, Johnny Schwarz
* Defender of the Year: Jake Wilson
* Midfielder of the Year: Johnny Schwarz
* Face Off Specialist of the Yea: Sean Miller
* John Fernandez Award For Courage: Tyler Schwarz