BOE Honors Varsity Athletes

BOE Honors Varsity Athletes photo thumbnail113101
The Shoreham-Wading River High School’s winter varsity sports teams were celebrated for their accomplishments at the March 12 Board of Education meeting in front of proud parents, siblings, administrators and community members.

Four out of seven winter varsity teams were recognized by New York State as Scholar-Athlete teams, designated by a team’s average GPA for 75 percent of the roster being greater than or equal to 90 percent. There were 124 varsity winter athletes and 61 of them maintained a 90 or higher GPA.

Students were named by Mark Passamonte, the district’s director of health, physical education, athletics and nurses, and each one present was gifted with a congratulatory Shoreham-Wading River School District commemorative pin by Superintendent of Schools Gerard Poole.

The Shoreham-Wading River School District commends the following students:

Girls Winter Track, Scholar-Athlete Team

* All-League: Nicole Garcia, Torre Parrinello and Lexie Smith.
* SWR MVP: Nicole Garcia.
* SWR Most Improved: Alicia Lopez.

Boys Winter Track

* All-League: Damien Caputo, Mike Casazza, Tyler Friedlander, Dylan Jung, Joe Tonetti, Blake Wehr and Adam Zelin.
* SWR Most Improved: Joe Tonetti.
* Co-SWR MVPs: Blake Wehr and Dylan Jung.

Boys Basketball

* All-League: Thomas Bell.
* All-Academic: Matt Cook.
* SWR MVP: Matt Cook.
* SWR Most Improved: Adam Gawreluk.

Girls Basketball, Scholar-Athlete Team

* All-League: Michele Corona, Abby Korzekwinski and Melissa Marchese.
* League V Rookie of the Year: Grace Ann Leonard.
* SWR MVP: Hayden Lachenmeyer.


* All-County: Jake Ekert, Craig Jablonski, Sean Miller, Wes Pase, Tristan Petretti and Eddie Troyano.

* SWR MVP: Eddie Troyano.
* SWR Most Improved: Sean Miller.

Cheerleading, Scholar-Athlete Team

* All-Division: Madison Borkowski.
* Academic All-County: Elizabeth Holden.

Boys Independent Swimming, Scholar-Athlete Team

* Jason Louser: All-County, All-State, All-American.
* Jason is the 200-yard individual medley and 500-yard freestyle county champion.
* Jason is the state champion in the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard breast stroke (second year in a row winning state titles in these events).
* Jason has won five state titles in his career.

The district also congratulates scholar-athletes Rachel Biemer, Benjamin Carrier, Michael Casazza, Eilis Casey, Matthew Cerniglia, Matthew Cook, Michele Corona, Sophia Costello, Carlie Cutinella, Jack D’Andrea, Katelyn Dawson, Connor DeLumen, Eric Di Lisio, Tyler Friedlander, Nicole Garcia, Nicholas Giordano, Jacqueline Gosman, Megan Greene, Tyler Hawks, Elizabeth Holden, Connor Hughes, Craig Jablonski, Nina Kelban, Destiny Keshner, Tyler Kitchen, Abigail Korzekwinski, Hayden Lachenmeyer, John LaValle, GraceAnn Leonard, Jenna Lesiewicz, Francesca Lilly, Kelly Logan, Paul Loscalzo, Jason Louser, Austin Manghan, Melissa Marchese, Katlynn McGivney, Brooke McGuire, Kara McGuire, India McKay, Grace McMillan, Isabella Meli, Sean Miller, RoseMarie Minneci, Connor Mullahey, Colleen Ohrtman, Danielle Ohrtman, Margaret Panasci, Torre Parrinello, Sean Reagan, Erin Reilly, Tesia Roth, Stephanie Searing, Annie Sheehan, Camden Sisler, Alexandra Smith, Selene Tan, Eleanora Undrus, Christopher Vedder, Jacob Vogel and Adam Zelin.