Spring athletes honored

Spring athletes honored photo thumbnail97252
At the final Board of Education meeting for the academic year, the SWR High School spring athletes were recognized for their successful season.

Principal Frank Pugliese announced the names of 51 student-athletes and praised their accomplishments and commitment to their sport. He also noted that all spring teams were named New York State Scholar-Athlete teams before Superintendent of Schools Gerard Poole presented those in attendance with a commemorative district pin.

Congratulations to our spring athletes!

The Boys Track team were named league champions. Other honors include:

* All-League: Damien Caputo, Mike Casazza, Rick Casazza, Mark Costas, Anthony Guzzone, Dylan Jung, Joey Krause, Ryan Ledda, Dan Montenegro, Luke Rey, Matt Rose, Calvin Schmalze, Blake Wehr and Adam Zelin
* All-County: Rick Casazza
* All-Academic: Calvin Schmalze
* SWR Most Improved: Dylan Jung
* SWR MVP: Rick Casazza

Girls Golf:

* All-League: Natalie Jepson, Katie Loscalzo and Carolyn Merced
* SWR MVP: Natalie Jepson and Katie Loscalzo
* SWR Most Improved: Caroline Morgan
* All-Academic: Jackie Holden, Natalie Jepson, Katie Loscalzo, Carolyn Merced, Caroline Morgan, Yusra Rashidzada and Zana Sawas

Girls Track:

* All-League: Nicole Garcia, Katherine Lee, Emma Longboat, Torre Parrinello and Alexandra Smith
* All-Division: Katherine Lee and Torre Parrinello
* All-County: Katherine Lee
* All-Academic: Katherine Lee
* SWR MVP: Katherine Lee
* SWR Most Improved: Torre Parrinello
* Katherine Lee: County champion in the 1,500 and 3,000 meter events

Boys Lacrosse:

* All-Division: Xavier Arline, Kyle Boden, Tim Cairo, Trevor Kessel and Jack Schirtzer
* All-County: Xavier Arline, Tim Cairo and Jack Schirtzer
* All-Country Honorable Mention: Kyle Boden

Girls Softball:

* All-County: Katlynn McGivney
* All-Division: Melissa Marchese and Joy Papagianopoulos

Boys Baseball:

* All-League: Ethan Baumack, DJ Brown, Gabriel Romano, TJ Wachter and Tyler Widercrantz
* All-County: Jesse Keshner and Ryan Mullahey
* Academic All-League: Joe Brown
* SWR MVP: Jesse Keshner
* SWR Most Improved: Mike Smith
* SWR Courage Award: Jack Crowley
* League VII champions

Girls Lacrosse:

* All-Division: Julie Kadletz
* All-County: Isabella Meli and Erin Triandafils
* All-County Honorable Mention: Gabrielle Cacciola and Mikayla Dwyer
* All-Tournament: Sarah Sheridan
* Section XI Unsung Hero: Jenna Lesiewicz