High School inducts 47 students into inaugural Tri-M Music Honor Society


Shoreham-Wading River High School has established a chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society and inducted 47 members at a ceremony and reception on Sept. 18.

The Tri-M Music Honor Society is a program of the National Association for Music Education, which focuses on creating future leaders in music education and music advocacy. Tri-M is the only national honor society for student musicians in secondary schools.

According to Ashley O’Connor, music teacher and chapter advisor, SWR chapter’s goal is to inspire and recognize musical achievement in the school music department.

In addition to writing a music-inspired essay, students must perform a New York State School Music Association Level 3 or higher solo for the high school music faculty. They must also maintain a minimum average of 90 in music classes and an overall GPA of 80. Inductees were also required to participate in one the high school’s music ensembles – band, orchestra, chorus, jazz band, chamber orchestra or the Vocal Express, the school’s acclaimed a capella group.

The following students are the inaugural inductees of the SWR Tri-M Music Honor Society:

Hannah Anuszewski
Kelly Beagen
Ashley Buro
Brett Callagy
Caleigh Capek
Victoria Coman
Jack Crowley
Cooper Cummings
Lindsay Deegan
Grace DelSeni
Vanessa DeRosso
DesiEmmanuel Desire
Eric DiLisio
Natalie Epp
Jack Flatley
Brennan Gorman
Jacqueline Holden
Andrew Honold
Rose Honold
Alexa Ibrahim
Madisyn King
Nicole Klein
Julianna Kohlus
Alexander Kravchenko
Francesca Lilly
Joshua Louser
Elisabeth Mallon
Nicholas Mango
Kerry Mannix
Sophia Mastrangelo
Arianna McMorris
Alexandra Meli
Gabriella Meli
Carley Nicoletti
Ryan Nowak
Margaret Panasci
Kendall Pluschau
Zachary Roff
Stephanie Searing
Brianna Scholl
Michelle Steimel
Anna Strack
Joshua Stumm
Alice VanWickler
William Wells
Christopher Wygonik
Tyler Wynkoop

Students in grades 9-12 will be eligible to apply in the spring of 2018 to join this elite group.