BOE Honors Athletes and Retirees

During their meeting on June 24, the Board of Education honored a group of exceptional athletes, as well as retiring employees.

Mark Passamonte, director of health, physical education and athletics, individually recognized the spring sports athletes. Those honored for their achievements were:

Boys Baseball
Matt Fox, Jack Massa, John Montesano, Chris Moran, Brian Morrell and Tyler Osik

Girls Softball
Shelby Curtin, Alex Hutchins, Brittany Mahan, Caitlin Mirabell and Hailey Tilton

Boys Track
Clarence Bias, Bryce Casey, Matt Gladysz, Jack Kelly, Liam Lane, Matt Leunig, Max Maritato, Conor McAlary, Isreal Squires, Keith Steinbrecher, Ryan Udvadia and Jordan Wright

Girls Track
Payton Capes-Davis, Katie Dunn, Amanda Dwyer, Alexandra Hays, Megan Kelly, Alexandra Kuhnle, Katherine Lee, Marianna McCarthy, Carolyn Rogers, Alexandra Smith and Courtney Wrigley

Boys Tennis
Jordan Block, Doug DeMaio, Brandon Dorcely, Chris Kuhnle, Craig Schmitt, Ryan Schmitt, Tom Stridiron and Nick West

Boys Lacrosse
Tyler Anderson, Ryan Bray, Dan Cassidy, Hunter Hayes, Dan Hughes and Tom Tatarian

Girls Lacrosse
Isabella Cortes, Manuela Cortes, Lauren Daly, Samantha Higgins, Shannon Rosati, Emily Sopko and Sophia Triandafils

After the sports players were applauded, Board President Dr. William McGrath spoke kind words about each retiring employee as District Clerk Janice Seus presented them each with a small token of appreciation from the district.

Those retiring are:

High School
Daria Capone, special education teacher; Michelle Collyer, teaching assistant; Terry Fisher, senior clerk typist; Rhonda Gordon, special education teacher; Regina Johnson, school nurse; Thomas Mangano, teaching assistant; Kevin Mann, social studies teacher; Alicia Mirabella, guidance counselor; and Thomas Tomaszewski, science teacher

Middle School
Jean Danowski, teaching assistant; Barbara Gaias, foreign language teacher; and Barbara Pellegrino, special education teacher

Elementary School
Jean Dalecki, teacher; Stephen Donohue, principal; Pauline Jauch, teacher; Christine Maugeri, special education teacher; Vickie Ocon, teaching assistant; Nancy Sisler, teacher; and Bonnie Zulli, speech

District Office
Valentina Coviello, accounts receivable/treasurer