Members of the Albert G. Prodell eighth-grade class were recognized for their academic accomplishments and pursuit of excellence during the school’s annual Awards Assembly in the auditorium. Principal Dr. Linda Anthony congratulated the students for all their hard work and thanked the parents for their support. 
“You have challenged yourselves while attending Albert G. Prodell Middle School, and it is my hope that you will continue to work hard and challenge yourselves in everything you undertake during the next step in your education.”
During the ceremony, twenty-two students received the prestigious Principal’s Award. To attain this high honor a student must acquire a 90 percent grade-point-average (GPA) in sixth and seventh grade and in the first semester of eighth grade. The honorees were:


Mathew Cilibrasi
Brendan Cushing
Allison Dooley
Alexa Ferraro
RenaMary Gebbia
Grace Genzano
Colin Hickey
Hatice Kaya
Alexandra Kessel
Thomas Kirby
Jenna Klemfuss
Brianna LaShier
Marie Musiello
Kristen Pisani
Matthew Pluschau
Robert Puckey
Robert Rose
Heather Sager
Anna Simos
Emily Sopko
James Suarez
James Szymanski

Christian Pluschau and Anna Sciavone were recipients of the Special Presidential Achievement Award. In addition, 48 students were recipients of the Presidential Award for Educational Excellence. To receive this honor, a student must have attained a 90 percent GPA during their tenure in the middle school and must have received a mastery score on one or more assessment exams. The recipients are as follows:


Philip Andolena
Elisabeth Appel
Nicholas Arata
Daniel Beagen
Theresa Bender
Kelly Bennett
Daniel Blake
Emily Blunnie
Kyle Brown
Keely Cain
Daniel Cidoni
Courtney Clasen 
Manuela Cortes
Lauren Daly
Gavin Davis
Camille Drouin-Allaire
Madison Dwyer
McKenna Farrell   

Richard Fox
Aaron Fox
Shaye Gulotta
Justin Joseph
Jillian Keane
Madeline Kelly
Michael Kelly
Abigail Langer
Natalie Lapedota
Gabriella Ledda
Daniel Lilly
Raymond Lopez
Molly Lutz
Sean Mannix
Liam Mears
John Meier
Kayla Milcetic
John Montesano
Alexandria Morrell
Jaime Olsen
Nicole Pirraglia
Christian Raimondo
Samantha Reese
Courtney Ricca
Sean Scarbrough
Kristin Sicari
Hayden Sierra
Paige Thomas
Spring Yu
John Zukowski


Students who excelled in individual subject areas were also honored, as follows:

English – Keely Cain
Honors English – Paige Thomas
Social Studies – Courtney Clasen
Math – Marie Musiello
Integrated Algebra – Madison Dwyer
Science – Brian Halpin
Regents Earth Science – Spring Yu
Health – Kelly Roy
Art – Grace Genzano
Spanish – Sean Mannix
French – Courtney Ricca
Physical Education – Alexandria Morrell and John Montesano
Home and Careers – Mackenzie Roberts
Technology – Richard Fox
Band – Brandon Green
Chorus – Emily Blunnie
Orchestra – Emily Sopko
NYS Comptroller’s Achievement Award – Kristin Pisani
After the ceremony, the students and their parents were invited into the corridor for refreshments and to congratulate their friends on moving up to the high school.