Honoring SWR Scholar-Athletes

1 thumbnail146626

The Shoreham-Wading River High School fall varsity sports teams were honored by the Board of Education at a recent meeting for their exceptional work on the field and in the classroom. Introduced by Athletic Director Mr. Mark Passamonte, all varsity teams were named scholar-athlete teams, an honor the 173 varsity students earned by more than 60 percent of them maintaining an average GPA of 90 percent or above during the season. Among all the teams, an impressive number of students racked up numerous All League, All Conference, All County, All Academic, sportsmanship and MVP awards. In addition, girls soccer coach Ms. Adrian Gilmore was honored for being named New York State Small Schools Coach of the Year, New York State Sportswriters Coach of the Year and US Soccer Coaches East Region Small School Coach of the Year.

The School District congratulates the following students:

Boys Cross Country

* All League: Adam Zelin
* All Conference: Adam Zelin
* All County: Adam Zelin
* State Team Member: Adam Zelin (3 consecutive years)
* SWR MVP: Adam Zelin
* Section XI MVP: Adam Zelin
* SWR Most Improved: Noah Parrinello

Girls Cross Country

* All League: Nicole Garcia, India McKay and Eleanora Undrus
* All Conference: Nicole Garcia
* All County: Nicole Garcia
* All State: Nicole Garcia
* All Academic: Nicole Garcia
* SWR MVP: Nicole Garcia
* Nicole Garcia placed 11th in the State meet and was the top Suffolk female runner in the Federation meet.

Girls Independent Swimming

* All County: Emily Herr

Girls Gymnastics

* All League: Madison Zelin, Meghan Thrash
* All County: Caitlin Thrash

Boys Volleyball

* All League: Aidan Drost
* All Academic: Max Calovi, Josh Aliberti, Wilson Schmalzle, Ntae Donohue
* SWR MVP: Aidan Drost
* SWR Most Improved: Josh Aliberti

Girls Volleyball

* All Conference: Alyson Mallon, Lauren Halloran, Samantha Rutkowsky, Kaila Teodoro

* League defensive Player of The Year: Lauren Halloran
* All County Tournament Team: Lauren Halloran

Boys Soccer

* All League: Jake DePaoli, Daniel Canellys, Matteo Sweet
* All Conference: James Rose, James Dacos, Brady Cummings
* All County: Brady Cummings, James Rose
* All State: Brady Cummings

Girls Tennis

* All County: Catherine Erb, Elizaveta Undrus
* All League: Alexandra Borriello, Sydney Spuhler, Emily Desroches, Katie Dinowtz, Joelle Ialacci
* All Conference: Natalie Acker, Stephanie Searing
* SCTCA Sportsmanship Award: Tara Mirabell
* SWR MVP: Catherine Erb
* SWR Most Improved: Sydney Spuhler

Field Hockey

* All League: Madeline Rutkowsky
* All Conference: Brooke Meltcher
* All County: Abigail Korzekwinski, Chiara Hodun, Ashley Luppens and Gabriella Meli
* All State: Summer Steimel
* SWR MVP: Summer Steimel
* SWR Most Improved: Abigail Wing
* Unsung Hero: Destiny Keshner

Boys Golf

* All League: Gavin Melandro, Matt Baylous, Tristan Costello, Will Cutinella, Andrew Vignola
* All County: Tristan Costello
* SWR MVP: Gavin Melandro
* SWR Most Improved: Cristian Mercado


* All League: Mike Casazza, Xavier Arline, Johnny Schwarz, Matt Zahn, Jake Wilson, Tyler Schwarz, Robert McGee, Dylan Blanco, Jeff Lachenmeyer, Jake Ekert
* All Conference: Mike Casazza, Xavier Arline, Matt Zahn, Jake Wilson, Tyler Schwarz, Robert McGee, Dylan Blanco, Jeff Lachenmeyer,
* All County: Mike Casazza, Xavier Arline, Matt Zahn, Jake Wilson, Tyler Schwarz
* SWR Special Teams Award: Robert McGee
* SWR Most Valuable Player and Offensive MVP: Xavier Arline
* SWR Defensive MVP: Mike Casazza
* OL Grunt Award: Matt Zahn
* DL Award: Dylan Blanco
* Won Section XI Division IV Championship- 5th County Championship in the last 5 years.
* Won the Division V LIC: 4th LIC Championship in the last 6 years.

Girls Soccer

* All Division: Lakin Ciampo, Elizabeth Shields, Ashley Borriello, Brooke Langella, Sara Hobbes
* All County: Gianna Cacciola, Alison Devall, Madison Joannou
* All State: Gianna Cacciola (2nd Team), Madison Joannou (6th Team)
* NYS Regional Team: Gianna Cacciola
* NYS Sportsmanship Award: Angelina Anderson
* Suffolk County Class A Champions
* LI Class A Champions
* New York State Class A Champions